THE STAGE- AN EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH AYODELE ADEKEMI, CREATIVE DIRECTOR, eQUIP CONCEPTS

Alore - EQUIP FASHION5

Q: Tell us a bit about yourself

A: I’m Ayodele Adekemi, a graduate of nutrition and dietetics from the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. I’m presently the Creative Director of eQuip Concepts, a business I run together with my husband. We are into creative crafts and fashion (fabric bags accessories, aso-oke, fashion design and training), project management, IT and Auto Diagnosis. I oversee the fashion and project management aspect of the business.

Alore - EQUIP FAHIOB14Alore - EQUIP FAHIOB17
Q: What ignited the spark to start a new business venture? How did the idea for your business come about?
A: As a young girl, I have always been interested in being an entrepreneur and dabbled into lots of business back then. So starting off wasn’t a problem when the opportunity came.

Q: What are the basics needed to venture into your kind of business?
A: First, creativity is an asset, then the capital to start off, target audience and consistency.

Alore - EQUIP2Alore - EQUIP4rAlore - EQUIP11e

Q: How do you find people to bring into your organisation that truly care about the organisation the way you do?
A: I look out for passion to succeed and positivity in people,these virtues drive any individual to thrive well in whatever niche they cave for themselves. I had a student who travelled all the way from Port-Harcourt to come learn from us in Ibadan, it was amazing.

Q: What would you advise those who want to become entrepreneurs?
A: Start small, be consistent with what you are doing, improve yourself everyday, don’t you ever give up and finish BIG!

Q: If you had the chance to start your career over again, what would you do differently?
A: Hmmmm, I love what I’m doing presently, so I would have done it better than how I’m doing it right now.

Q: What would you say are the top three skills needed to be a successful entrepreneur?
A: Innovative skills, strategic planning and implementation skills, good management skills.

Q: What has been some of your failures, and what have you learnt from them?
A: I don’t follow up well on clients and I have a bad book-keeping record habit. But I have started to keep record of how the business functions with the help of my partner and husband

Q: How long do you stick with an idea before giving up?
A: I never give up! It annoys some people though because I hardly ever give up.

Q: Describe/outline your typical day? How many hours do you work a day on the average?
A: Whao! My typical day? All I know is I make sure I sleep at least 4hours a day. So my day is spent taking care of my baby, home, production, training, drawing and developing new designs, managing social networks for the business, etc.

Q: How do you generate new ideas?
A: I love research. So I constantly look out for what’s new out there, how I can make a difference and meet individual needs of my clients.

Alore - EQUIP13DSC00320
Q: What are your ideals?
A: Live life to the fullest, be positive minded and inspire others.

Q: How do you build a successful customer base?
A: I always make sure I every customer right because I know they will come back and always refer me to others when they are satisfied.

Q: If you could talk to one person from history, who would it be and why?
A: Margaret Thatcher, I know its funny and controversial, but I will love to know how she managed and succeeded in a dominated by men back then, where her strength came from and if she has any regrets.

Q: What do you feel is the major difference between entrepreneurs and those who work for other people?
A: Entrepreneurs work round the clock, they can’t afford to quit any time they feel like because its deadly! They will displace a lot of people who depend on them!

Q: What are your hobbies? What do you do in your non-work time?
A: I love reading novels and literatures. What I do best in my non-work time is SLEEP.

Q: What makes you happy?
A: When I get positive results.

Q: If you were conducting this interview, what questions would you ask?
A: Mostly what you have asked me.

IMG-20130208-00841IMG-20130208-06158IMG-20130416-01055IMG-20130417-01080

eQUIP Concepts: BB Pin- 27873017, 07038254651, 08073705146, equipconcepts@gmail.com, http://equipconceptsblog.wordpress.com

Check out eQUIP page, view our lovely products, like and share with friends- http://t.co/AwURvqEO

If you would like to be featured on The Stage or you know any entrepreneur that would like to be featured on The Stage, contact us on:

The Writers’ Creed

tyajijola@yahoo.com 08062574802 BB PIN: 27C92033

IT IS FREE.

Quite creative, fun to be with.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment

BUSINESS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other subscribers
April 2013
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
BUSINESS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.